Paterson's Historical Synagogues
The synagogues of Passaic, Bergen and Hudson Counties are rich with history, wonderful architecture, and stories of how these synagogues were started and how some sadly ended. The JHSNJ archives have many photos, newspaper articles and artifacts indicating the life of these synagogues. This week we feature photos of past synagogues of Paterson, some of which are not well known. In the future we will focus on other historical synagogues from other towns.

Congregation Ahavath Joseph (the little shul) located on the corner of Godwin St. and Washington St. Paterson, NJ.

Anshai Lodz Fair Street Shul, Paterson. Photo taken in 1932.

The former Workman’s Circle Shul as it appears today at 12 Governor St, Paterson, NJ

Congregation Linath Hagadeh located on Carroll St, Paterson, NJ, now boarded up.

The Water Street Shul built in 1908; date of its last services is unknown.

The remains of the Anshe Lubavitz shul on 11th Ave. and E.24th St., Paterson, NJ.